top of page

My 9-year-old Son dares to Lecture Me

Updated: Mar 6




Middle childhood (ages 6-12) is a period in a child's life when physical, mental, social, and other changes occur.


Having a nine year - old at home will make you engage in a long, detailed conversation about how and why the titanic sank or whether there will be a meeting or outing to be added on the weekend. You may see them enjoying movies, playing with peers, or learning to appreciate other children, especially those of their opposite sex.


At times, they seem tired or moody. Their emotions and moods can be a bit of a roller coaster. The good thing is, they can express their feelings and emotions clearly to others. No baby talks anymore! They can understand and discern their environment. They can sense if there is a problem or a victory in the family.


One morning, I asked my nine - year old son about the reason for prayer. He just stared at me and waited for me to answer.


So, I explained to him. "Prayer is needed for God's divine intervention in our earthly life. Through prayer, we have an assurance that there is nothing to worry about because there is someone up there who takes care of us."


"Okay mama," he answered.


I asked him if he felt anxious during exams.


I was surprised when he answered, "Ma, exams are normal, just a part of school days."


So, I asked again, "how about your food allowance? Aren't you worried if we can't give you money to buy snacks?"


He calmly said, "mom, why should I worry if I can pray for those things? Being worried will not solve any problem but, prayer can bring blessings."


I was speechless hearing his answers. I was lectured by a nine-year-old! Sometimes, the Lord uses a child to remind the adult to trust Him and His providence.


Children in their middle childhood may have a short attention span, but they can recall important information and speak like adults. They are more refined in their actions and have a greater appreciation for life and its purpose.


Every parent must grab every opportunity to develop a close relationship with their children. Talk to them about their progress in school or who their crush is or what makes them sad and happy.


Having an open and interesting conversation lessens their time on gadgets and offers quality time to nurture them in their spiritual journey.


Our kids are our greatest assets!


Any stories about you and your kids? Feel free to share in our comment section below.

18 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page