top of page

TOO BUSY TO PRAY? How Prayer Simplifies Your Schedule


Too Busy to Pray? How Prayer Simplifies Your Schedule
How to Lessen your Workload

“This is the day,

This is the day that the Lord has made,

That the Lord has made,

I will rejoice, I will rejoice and be glad in it."


Is this one of your favorite songs? I grew up singing this song. Now, I imagine God responding, “If this is My day, then why don’t you come and talk to Me about it?” Too often, we fill God’s day with tasks He didn’t intend for us.


"More work is done by prayer than by work itself." — Martin Luther King Jr.


As a mother of four, my life is a whirlwind of activities. Between personally tutoring my children in their studies, managing household chores, and spending nights writing my books and learning how to self-publish, my days are full. There are times when exhaustion overwhelms me, and my mind is crowded with endless tasks and worries.


In these moments of overwhelming busyness, I have learned the profound power of prayer. When I feel that I am drowning in responsibilities, I pause and spend more time in prayer than I usually do. After that wonderful time with the Lord, my mind becomes clearer, my soul finds peace, and I can approach my tasks with renewed clarity and purpose.


In our moments of waiting in prayer, the Lord gives instructions, comfort, and confidence. Sometimes, these are God's ways of answering our prayers. In our quiet times of communion with God, we can find the strength to continue and the guidance to prioritize what truly matters.


Spending one hour with God could accomplish more than ten hours of work because it eliminates trial and error. God reveals what is truly important versus what merely seems urgent. He will direct us on what to prioritize and what can wait.


Through prayer, God imparts wisdom to tackle our challenges effectively. You will achieve more with fewer actions, as every step becomes purposeful. Prayer brings clarity, wisdom, and discernment that you wouldn’t have otherwise. Jesus understood what was important because He spent time with the Father. Hours spent with God make minutes with our tasks far more effective.


So, if you find yourself too busy to pray, remember that:

Prayer is not just a retreat from the world; it is a powerful act that brings more clarity, strength, and purpose to our work than we can achieve on our own.


Understanding this principle is a crucial part of one's prayer life. Whenever your heart and mind are burdened, life is chaotic, or you face overwhelming challenges, don’t try to handle them alone. Instead, turn to God in prayer, and trust Him to provide the wisdom and guidance you need to navigate those difficulties.


 

Discover the power of prayer when it is aligned to your purpose!

Download my FREE mini eBook, UNSTOPPABLE: Activating Your Purpose, Pursuing Your Vision and Unleashing Your Inner Strength, and learn how understanding your purpose can guide your prayers and bring clarity to your life.


Comments


bottom of page